Maddy Deerman Takes 2023 NFR Open Title—Results Tracker

Maddy Deerman of the Turquoise Circuit clinched the NFR Open Championship July 15, 2023.

Maddy Deerman chases down her calf at the NFR Open
Maddy Deerman emerged victorious at the NFR Open, roping her final calf in 3.0 seconds. Photo by Tanya Hamner.

The NFR Open is taking place from July 11—15, 2023 with seven performances including breakaway in Colorado Springs, Colorado, at the Norris Penrose Event Center.

The top two 2022 breakaway ropers from each of the WPRA’s 13 divisional circuits received the coveted invitation to the event—which not only serves as the crown jewel of the ProRodeo circuit world, but pays a sizable $85,300 to breakaway ropers—which can shift the world standings.

NFR Open round 1 results

First round: 1. Samantha Fulton, 2.30 seconds, $5,666; 2. Kendal Pierson, 2.60, $4,293; 3. (tie) Cathy Cagliari, Madison Outhier, Addy Hill and Tiffany Ogren, 2.80, $1,803 each. 

NFR Open round 2 results

Second round: 1. Syerra Christensen, 2.20 seconds, $5,666; 2. Alli Masters, 2.50, $4,293; 3. Maddy Deerman, 2.60, $3,091; 4. Annie Minor, 3.00, $2,060; 5. (tie) Taylor Munsell, Delaney Kunau and Cheyenne Blackmore, 3.10, $687 each. 

NFR Open semifinals results

Semifinals: 1. Taylor Munsell, 3.40 seconds, $6,868; 2. (tie) KeAnn Hayes and Maddy Deerman, 3.50, $4,293 each; 4. Kendal Pierson, 3.80, $1,717.

NFR Open four man final

Finals: 1. Maddy Deerman, 3.00 seconds, $6,868; 2. Taylor Munsell, 12.10, $5,151; 3. KeAnn Hayes, NT, $3,434; 4. Kendal Pierson, NT, $1,717.

The following athletes are competing in the 2023 NFR Open:

Syerra Christensen – Badlands Circuit

Samantha Fulton – Badlands Circuit

Hanna Hundsdorfer – California Circuit

Cathy Cagliari – California Circuit

Annie Minor – Columbia River Circuit

Jordan Minor – Columbia River Circuit

Cheyenne Chamberlain – First Frontier Circuit

Kelsey King – First Frontier Circuit

Alli Masters – Great Lakes Circuit

Jesse Alsup – Great Lakes Circuit

Bradi Whiteside – Maple Leaf Circuit

Kendal Pierson – Maple Leaf Circuit

J.T. Acosta – Mexico Circuit

Joey Williams – Montana Circuit

Tiffany Ogren – Montana Circuit

Charity Hoar – Mountain States Circuit

Erin Johnson – Mountain States Circuit

KeAnn Hayes – Prairie Circuit

Taylor Munsell – Prairie Circuit

Shelby Osceola – Southeastern Circuit

Heather McLaughlin – Southeastern Circuit

Madison Outhier – Texas Circuit

Martha Angelone – Texas Circuit

Cheyenne Blackmore – Turquoise Circuit

Maddy Deerman – Turquoise Circuit

Addy Hill – Wilderness Circuit

Delaney Kunau – Wilderness Circuit

Tiada Gray took the lions share of the winnings at the 2024 Windy Ryon, rounding up a total of $8,722 for her Average Championship.
Windy at the Ryon
TiAda Gray Triumphs at 2024 Windy Ryon Memorial Breakaway Roping, Nets Nearly $9K
Rylee George spills her secrets on nailing the long scores at rodeos such at Guymon Pioneer days.
Commence the circuits
How Are Things Looking on the 2024 Breakaway Circuit Front?
Amy Ohrt_2024_WRWC_Frothy_Editied
Rising Star Amy Ohrt Recounts WRWC Breakaway Championship, Her Upbringing on The Breakdown Podcast
Shiloh Napp is glad brother Shane Hadley is at her side, especially considering he wasn't supposed to live a few hours past his horrific accident while bulldogging in 2018.
Never back down
Living Proof: Shiloh Napp's Brother Shane Hadley Survives TBI to Push Breakaway Calves
Screenshot 2024-05-20 at 5.00
Ohrt has arrived
1.76 Seconds! Teen Amy Ohrt Wins WRWC at AT&T Stadium Against Brutal Competition
Kieley Walz won both of her breakaway roping matches—one in Round 1 and one in the Finals—to contribute to the WCRA Free Rider's win.
Come on and take a free ride
Underdog Free Riders Team Clinches Kid Rock’s Rock N Rodeo with Kieley Walz at the Helm

"*" indicates required fields


Additional Offers

Additional Offers
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.