Shelby Boisjoli’s “Onna” Wins 2023 WPRA Horse of the Year

The 8-year-old mare "Onna"—boasting cowhorse and reining bloodlines—has earned the coveted Horse of the Year title for the second time.

Prorodeo Breakaway Roping: Cowboy Christmas Tracker
Jackie Jensen Photo

Shelby Boisjoli’s mare “Onna” has won the WPRA Breakaway Horse of the Year distinction for the second time.

The Nutrena Horse of the Year presented by AQHA awards provides recognition to ProRodeo’s top horses. Making the award extra special to each WPRA member is the fact that their fellow competitors are the ones that vote on this prestigious award.

The Definitive List Of Horses Headed To The National Finals Of Breakaway Roping

No Wimpy Turns “Onna” won the inaugural Nutrena Horse of the Year presented by AQHA in 2021 and returns to the top of the list just like her jockey Shelby Boisjoli in 2023. Setting a record in breakaway roping earnings Boisjoli and Onna enter the National Finals Breakaway Roping with $164,549 earned at 100 rodeos competed in.

Finishing second in the breakaway roping votes was Kits Tiana Play “Little Man” ridden and owned by Kelsie Domer. Domer, who has won three WPRA breakaway roping world titles, finished the regular season ranked fifth with $112,281.

Rounding out the top three rope horses was Joey Williams’ Baybe Bullet “Baybe”, who took top honors in the 2022 Horse of the Year voting. This year Baybe carried Williams to not only the Cheyenne Frontier Days Rodeo title but also the Pendleton Round-up title.

WPRA Breakaway Roping Horse of the Year Results

1st place – NO WIMPY TURNS (ridden & owned by Shelby Boisjoli)

2nd place – KITS TIANA PLAY (ridden & owned by Kelsie Domer)

3rd place – BAYBE BULLET (ridden by Joey Williams – Owned by Taylor or Joey Williams)